A Caged heart

Perched on my shoulders, rests a lost little bird, drinking in everything through his shiny beady eyes, somewhat awry of his surroundings yet in a unique state of bliss.

“What keeps you so high about, oh little bird?” I ask him earnestly, curious of his meanderings and adventures.

“I escaped my cage today.” comes his joyful reply.

“What was it like?”

“Like that first drop of rain after a sultry summer, like those precious moments in the morning when there’s nothing more beautiful than a few rays of sunshine. It was like waking up after a horrible nightmare and realising that the demons that torture our souls cannot overpower our flamboyant selves. I escaped my prison with a heavy heart and an exuberant smile, when will you escape yours?” He peers at me slightly, preparing to fly away any minute.

“I’m not a prisoner, just an obstinate person.” I laugh shakily, bewildered at his delusional words.

The bird only gives me a sad smile, pecks my heart repeatedly and takes his leave. He turns back for the last time, stares at me with utter determination and whispers, “One day even you will be free from your caged heart.”

Leave a Reply

